Reason #1: Facebook isn’t the same thing

If you’d asked me 4 years ago if I’d attend a high school reunion (much less volunteer to help plan one), I’d have said, “Probably not.”

I’d lost touch with all but two high school friends, and–no offense to all the great people I knew back then–that wasn’t feeling like a tremendous loss.  I had a very full and busy life, and seeing people who were no longer part of it just didn’t seem that important.

Then (like just about everyone else in the world) I discovered Facebook. And I rediscovered many of you. It was great. I loved seeing what had happened to and for people I once saw every day.

wendy

Did you know that Wendy Walsh became a dentist? And she’s neighbors with Bella and Edward!

kristen art

Or that Kristen Bradley Watts is an amazing artist?

jerry

And that Jerry Ruston is still just as funny as he used to be. Only now he’s got cute kids, too.

Great as it was to catch up with people I last saw in 1983, I bet if you’d asked me the reunion question 3 years ago my answer wouldn’t have been any different than in the pre-Facebook days.

Who needs a reunion? I thought.

With Facebook, I get everything I’d get from a reunion, and none of the things I don’t want: travel, expense, possible discomfort of all kinds that might come with seeing people who knew me when I was a much earlier version of myself.

rita

Wasn’t sure how it would feel to hang out with people who knew me when this was the face I presented to the world (because this is so not me any more).

And then I got to meet some old friends in real life, face to face. If you haven’t been able to do this yet, I want you to know:

Facebook’s got nothing on face time.

It’s not the same at all.

When I got together for dinner with a few old friends last year, it felt like our conversation picked up right where it left off. It was as good as our best teenage late-into-the-night talks, only better–because we are older, wiser, and kinder than we were then.

I realized then that true friendship never really dies, especially with friends we made early in our lives.I can’t really explain it, but there’s just something special about being with people who knew you back before you lived most of what you now think of as your story.

Something powerful, and delightful, and comforting. And no amount of photos, status updates, shared links, and stupid jokes can touch it.

(Just in case you’re nodding your head but wondering about all those kinds of possible discomfort I mentioned earlier, don’t worry. I’ll deal with some of those things in my other reasons you might want to attend our reunion. Hope you’ll subscribe to our blog so you don’t miss out on them.)

Have you reconnected with any old classmates in real life? How did it go? Would love to have others share their stories in the comments.

And if you’ve got a great reason that we should all attend the reunion, please feel free to write it down and send it to:  ritaottramstad@yahoo.com.

I might have trouble getting to 30 all by myself!

(Ready to get your tickets? Click here.)

2 thoughts on “Reason #1: Facebook isn’t the same thing

  1. Very nicely said Rita. I myself am looking forward to getting to see old classmates. It’s been almost 20 years since I’ve seen anyone.

Leave a Reply

